The Maiden Voyage

I’m not typically the textbook definition of a “man’s man.”  I don’t like to get my hands dirty, and any time I do, I have to wash them immediately.

When I’m having car trouble, I’m great at calling for a tow.  When work needs done around my house, I’m great at paying someone else to do it.  When I’m late for work, I don’t even try to make an excuse.

I’m not much of a beer drinker, I despise hot wings, I don’t find Megan Fox or Katy Perry the slightest bit attractive, and I can’t stand AC/DC or Led Zeppelin.

But then again, I sit here tonight watching a football game, bitter that the NHL season was supposed to start tonight but may not start at all, and disappointed that my favorite baseball team didn’t make the playoffs.  I rode a motorcycle to work this morning in the chilly October air, and I took the long way to enjoy the ride.  I worked all day at a powersports dealership surrounded by four-wheelers, side-by-sides, dirt bikes, and street machines.  I came home to my favorite pizza from college waiting on me – this is a pizza I many times ate after it sat out for a day – and ate it right out of the box.  Afterward, I played a bit of guitar.  Maybe I’m manly after all?

Maybe it’s okay that you’d rather have your head in a computer case instead of under a car hood.  Maybe it’s alright if you’re not a DIY handy man.  I don’t claim to be a shining beacon of masculinity, but I guess I’m into a lot of male-driven hobbies.

Here’s to being not a man’s man, but a man, nonetheless.  And here’s to my fiance’s pink laptop for making this possible!

-J

~ by hamiltonjacobs on October 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
