Ostrich Syndrome

When I first set out to blog it up on WordPress, I committed to the idea that I would avoid blatantly plugging websites or businesses within the text of my posts, as if I was upholding some sacred obligation.  “I’m no corporate whore,” I’ve always thought to myself.  In my last blog, for instance, I addressed a Pay-Per-View program as “MMA” rather than drop a plug for UFC.  But anyone who reads about a Mixed Martial Arts PPV in 2012 will know I’m talking about UFC.  Talking about something without explicitly naming it doesn’t prevent your audience from knowing what you’re talking about (it just saves you in the case of a lawsuit).  I’m not going out of my way to advertise for anyone on this blog, but if I have a topic to discuss, I’m also no longer going out of my way to avoid mentioning names if there is no immediate harm foreseen.  No need to put my head in the sand and pretend I’m not talking about what I’m obviously talking about.

So let’s talk about my most recent object of fascination: the Ostrich Pillow.  Thanks to a story on Yahoo! News, I found the Ostrich Pillow on Kickstarter and not a day has gone by since that I don’t talk about it, watch the promo video, or look longingly at my desktop background:

I know it looks silly, and surely I would never use it as much as I daydream I would, but in my imagination, this is the best invention of the new millenium (people still say that, right???).  Who doesn’t want to take a nap at work?  Ok, maybe this guy:

But seriously, this is a much better solution to “that 2 o’clock feeling” than 5-Hour Energy!  Who’s with me?  Nobody?  Ok, I’ll just slip into my Ostrich Pillow and take a solitary doze, then.

-Zzz…Zzz…Zzzzzzz….

~ by hamiltonjacobs on October 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
