Separation Anxiety – Part 1

I’ve been buying and selling for over a decade. My experiences on eBay have consistently made me a decent sum of money over the years, but like clockwork, one very consistent phenomena I experience when selling anything is that regardless of how little interest I have in an item (which leads to selling it in the first place), the level of desire I have for it spikes straight up as soon as I realize it’s sold.

I have mentioned previously that I have a few motorcycles. One such bike is a Suzuki Gladius I bought last year:

Though it was a bit small for me, I absolutely loved the bike, and the price was too low to pass up. This year, I got a smokin’ deal on another bike that suited my needs and my physical size more adequately:

Unfortunately, the Gladius hasn’t seen many miles in 2012. I still love the bike, but its lack of practicality led me to consider selling it. I threw an ad on Craigslist and also posted it on a motorcycle forum, but didn’t really go out of my way to try to sell it.

Imagine the surprise when I received an e-mail from a guy who wanted to buy it. He offered me a good price – more than I paid for it – and I happily agreed. Today I received an e-mail including a scanned copy of the cashier’s check with a note that he would come pick up the bike this Saturday.

I came home and gathered all the extra bits I had for the bike and made sure everything was tip top.  After a long hard look, with an uneasy silence – the kind of experience one might have at a funeral home when looking down at an acquaintance in a casket – I took it for a ride and started the second-guessing.

“Why are you letting this thing go?” I asked myself, rationalizing that I could afford to keep it, and that I had plenty of space for it in the new shed – the shed I selected with deliberate consideration that it would be housing both these motorcycles.  I parked the Gladius next to its replacement and wondered when I’d be having the same experience with the Yamaha.

I’m sure I will be kicking myself for years, but that’s just how it goes.  Part of the fun of life is fondly remembering the past, longing to be there again.  If we held on to everything, we would never have anything to remember, because it would all still be with us.  So here’s to letting things go so that we may experience the wonder of wishing we hadn’t.

-J

~ by hamiltonjacobs on October 18, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
