Let Yourself Think

Have you ever noticed that when you go to bed at night you’re full of great ideas?  Your lights are out so you can’t make a quick note, and your phone is plugged in across the room so you can’t even e-mail your “Eureka!” moment to yourself.  Great timing, brain!

Some people have observed this phenomenon and erroneously theorized that our minds must work better when we’re tired.  The effects of sleep and sleep deprivation are among the most-studied topics of humanity.  One absolute reality is that the mind does not operate better when tired.  As our energy is depleted, our brain becomes less alert.  Our reflexes slow, and our sense of awareness becomes distorted.  We are most certainly not smarter when we’re exhausted.


This is what “tired” and “exhausted” look like a second later.

Moments before coming to bed, you were just as tired in the living room, and not having any brainstorms.  You were checking your social media one last time, watching the end of a television program, finishing off a snack or a drink.  You were focused on nothing and everything all at once.  You were scatter-brained.

Consider the scenario when you get in bed.  The room is silent and dark.  You’re lying down, without having to concentrate on anything external.  You’re free from distractions.  When given a moment to do nothing but think freely, the human brain is a dynamic, creative, beautiful creature capable of achieving greatness.

When I go to bed, I think.  When I wake up, I stay in bed and think.  When I go “#2”, I think.  When I drive, I often leave the radio off and I think.  Silence is one of my favorite sounds, because it allows my brain to innovate.  Some of my best ideas have come from nothing more than a willingness to relax and let my mind wander.

Try it some time.

-J

~ by hamiltonjacobs on February 8, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
