Hobby Hopping – Gateway to Relationships

I wish I could be one of those people who is just absolutely amazing at something.  A virtuoso.  A guru.  A phenom.  Whatever the term, the people who can call themselves the best at what they do have my utmost admiration.  I’ll never be in that position, though, because I’m all over the place when it comes to my interests.

Growing up, I used to wonder why my dad seemed to have so my unfinished projects.  He certainly had the know-how to complete all of them.  He has a building full of vintage motorcycles in various states of disrepair, and a room full of guns that he never shoots.  He’s dabbled in loads of other things as well, and they all take time.  That’s the issue: there’s never enough time for all the things he wants to do.

Much like my dad, I have never been content to pursue a single hobby.  I get heavily into one thing and then switch gears suddenly to something else.  I feel like my mind is always pulling me in various directions, and that can be frustrating.  Other than spending time with my family, my days consist of any combination of riding and reading about vintage British motorcycles, vintage enduros, and modern motorcycles, getting tattooed, playing guitars, basses, and seeking out and using effects units, following Pirates baseball, Penguins hockey, and UFC, and watching a bunch of television shows religiously.  I’m never 100% focused on any one of these things, so I’m always somewhere in the middle when it comes to my knowledge and expertise.

I used to really wish I could focus more on a single endeavor.  But is it really all it’s cracked up to be?  Variety is nice, and one great side effect of diversified interests is all the different friends and acquaintances I’ve made from all these walks of life.  The worlds of each of these areas are filled with interesting people, and I’ve been fortunate enough to meet and befriend countless characters over the years, from presidents of major corporations to old-timers set in their ways, and from all over the United States, and from all over the world as well!

My fiance used to always comment that we couldn’t go anywhere without running into someone who knew me.  I thought it was just in her mind until we drove 3 hours to Pittsburgh on a long weekend and ran into someone whose wedding I had attended years ago, and later confirmed further when an acquaintance of mine who once hired my band to play a party was on a flight I took to Las Vegas.  It seems to be less of a fluke and more of a normal reality that I know people all over the place.  And who could complain about that?

I don’t have the drive and focus to engross myself in one single hobby, but the relationships I’ve made with people over the years are worth so much more to me than that.  I hope our children share this wide spectrum of interests to they can feel the joy of meeting new people and constantly growing their experiences.  I continue to be extremely appreciative of all the opportunities I get to make new friends and share ideas.  Although I admire the level of accomplishment reached through one-minded drive and devotion, I also pity those people, because they’re missing out on the beauty of diversity.

-J

~ by hamiltonjacobs on May 17, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
