Awful Nightmares

Last night I had a ridiculous pair of terrifying dreams.

It’s dusk and I’m at my parents’ house in Holloway and mom and I are outside in the driveway. For some reason she wanders over to the edge of the drive where the forest starts. Out of nowhere she lets out this blood curdling scream… “MARK’S COMING!!!! RUN!!!” Mark, if you didn’t already know, is my dad. What the hell?! My mom comes barreling toward me continuing to scream that we need to get in the house. I’m shocked and can’t move. I don’t see anyone. Then out of the woods comes my dad at a full sprint with a psychotic look on his face that would put the creepiest scary movie antagonist to shame. He’s running as hard as he can and as he gets closer, I can see he has a gun. Mom had run for the house, and now my only hope was to slow him down, so I try to get in his way, shouting at him to settle down and think about what’s happening. Before I can do anything, he shoots me in the throat and I collapse, bleeding profusely.

I realize mom is in danger, so I try my best to apply pressure on my throat and get myself up and inside. I can’t yell so I’m stumbling through the house looking. I come up the stairs trying to be quiet and my dad is standing outside the door to the bathroom. He isn’t moving or saying anything. His arms are at his sides. Imagine the basement scene from the Blair Witch Project. Again, I can’t speak because of my throat so I grab him from behind and pull him to the ground. He’s still holding his gun, and I’m trying to wrestle it away from him. He shoots a couple times and I finally choke him to sleep. At this point I’m going in and out of consciousness from losing so much blood, and I recognize that he and I are lying in front of the bathroom door so mom can’t open it. I somehow drag my dad away from the door and mom comes out, never saying a word, just in shock. She had the phone with her and had called 911. In my mind I picture dad getting arrested and someday getting out and coming back to kill my mom so I get the gun and tell him I love him and then I shoot him in the head! Then I woke up crying. Wow.

It took me a little over an hour to finally calm down enough to fall back asleep, and that’s when I had the second crazy dream. It’s about 3:30 a.m. and my phone rings. I see it’s my parents’ number, so my heart sinks; the only reason they would call at this time of night would be to tell me tremendously sad news. I answer, and it’s my mom, crying. I can barely understand her through the sobbing: “Jacob I love you so very much. Hug Lily for me.” Before I can say anything, I hear a gun shot! I start screaming into the phone for her to say something, but all I can hear is my dad in the distant background yelling for her and getting closer and closer as he’s yelling and running down the stairs. I hear him saying “No! No! No! No! No! Please no!!!” and I’m yelling for someone to pick up the phone. But I hear another gun shot, and then I wake up, bawling my eyes out.

Eventually I drifted to sleep again, and when I woke up this morning, it was all so fresh in my mind. What a terrible night!

Love you mom and dad!

-J

~ by hamiltonjacobs on June 13, 2014.

One Response to “Awful Nightmares”

  1. what did you eat before you went to bed, lol Freaky

Leave a Reply

 
